Each Jublilant Chord

Musical settings of
Thomas Traherne

The King/Cave Collective performing “Transatlantic Traherne”
Hereford Cathedral 2012

(Photo: Derek Foxton)

“Traherne and Finzi lived in the same kind of countryside and the text and music suffuse that, and if you walk in the hills of the West Country you can’t help but visualise that when you sing it. It’s just that wonderful, lilting, soft-edged beauty.”

Toby Spence interview in THE GRAMOPHONE.

This listing has been produced by Jerzy Rosankiewicz and Graham Cosway and includes those items known to date. We will be glad to hear of additions/ amendments. Recordings are liable to be/ have been deleted from catalogues but may be available through specialist retailers. We begin with Finzi (who else?).

Please select from the listing to see the details:

Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
Malcolm Archer (b.1952)
Geoffrey Burgon (1941-2010)
Nigel Butterley (b.1935)
Jonathan Dove (b.1959)
Paul Drayton (b.1944)
Tony Hewitt-Jones (1926-1989)
Laurence Armstrong Hughes (b.1952)
Phillip Schroeder (b.1956)
Michael Burnett
David Rowland (1939-2007)
Mervyn Cooke
Paul Ayres (b.1970)
Robin Holloway (b.1943)
Frederick Karam (1926-1978)
Aaron Jay Kernis (b.1960)
Philip Ledger (1937-2012)
Elizabeth Maconchy (1907-1994)
Andrew Morris (b.1953)
Anthony Piccolo (b.1946)
Francis Pott (b.1957)
David Sawer (b.1961)
Dobrinka Tabakova (b.1980)
William Wordsworth (1908-1988)
David Wyllie (b.1933)
Ewan King
Herefordshire composers
Kenneth Leighton (1929-1988)
William Mathias (1934-1992)
Rupert Lang (b.1948)
David Chassar-Hesketh
James Whitbourn (b.1963)
Cecilia McDowall (b.1951)
Mike Heron (b.1942)
Justin Connolly (b.1933)
Toivo Tulev (b.1958)
Bill Douglas (b.1944)
Rutland Boughton (1878-1960)
Peter Stoltzfus Berton (b.1968)
John Thow (1949-2007)
David Ashley White (b.1944)
John Ralph Weeks (b.1934)
Richard Errington (b.1952)
John Raphael Aspinwall
Fraser Wilson (b.1984)
Stephen Dodsworth
Stephen Gowland (b.1955)
Bob Chilcott (b.1955)
Anthony J. Taffs (1916-2005)
Patrick Dunachie
Frances Pullen
Robert Peate (b.1987)
Julian Robbins
Jane Marian Jospeh (1894-1929)
Jan C. Snow
Claude Ballif (1924-2004)
Donald St. Pierre
Albert Ronald Tremain (1923-1998)
Robert William Burch (1929-2007)
Colin Matthews (b.1946)
Christopher Brown (b.1943)
Andrew Wilson-Dickson
William Reginald Pasfield (1909-1994)
Robert Hogenson (1936-2010)
da Noust
Satoru Ikeda (b.1961)
Paul Fisher (b.1943)
Rob Peters (b.1969)
Bryceson Treharne (1879-1948)
Charles M. Wilson (b.1931)
Patrick Larley (b.1951)
Jouni Kaipainen (b.1956)
William Leonard Reed (1910-2002)
David Husser
Scott Eric Smith (b.1962)
Andrew Carter
Kelvin Thomson (b.1958)
Sproatly Smith
John Casken
Margaret Lucy Wilkins (b.1939)
Sir Harrison Birtwistle (b.1934)
Martin Bussey (b.1958)
Emma Chopourian
Francis Jackson (b.1917)
Betty Beath (b.1932)
John Villaume (1907-1994)
Barney Childs (1926-2000)
Arthur Wills (b.1926)
Gavin Bryars (b.1943)
Rick Sowash (b.1950)
Stephen Dodgson (1924-2013)
Carson Cooman (b.1982)
Erin Aas (b.1974)
Jeff Bowar
Kristopher Maloy
Robert Jones (b.1945)
Graham Garton (b.1929)
Richard Knight

One of Tom Denny's inspirational Traherne windows situated in the Audley Chapel in Hereford Cathedral

Select another image

Find out more about
Tom Denny